Otherkin Reiki: Bonus

If you’ve sat through this whole series I do have one last surprise for you. A sigil designed for attunement.

This sigil and the thoughtform it represents have been created to attune someone to the full spectrum of Otherkin Reiki energies and thoughtforms. At this time that includes Usui, Karuna, and Imara Reiki and their associated symbols as the base, all of the channeled and intentionally created symbols/sigils listed on this site, and the four symbols channeled by Crisses listed on the Open Source Reiki website.

While this might look like a complex symbol at first, it’s drawn easily if one draws a normal septegram using two fingers held apart, bringing them together to draw the circle around it.

If you’d like to use it on yourself, I’d suggest meditating on the symbol with that intent.


Otherkin Reiki: In Conclusion

We now have a set of seven sigils specifically designed to help with the phases of otherkin development from “awakening” through “transformation”.  As I mentioned in the last essay, this is not necessarily the neat linear process it may sound like.  Not only is the end of the cycle the beginning of another, but it is possible for one individual to be on one phase with regard to one aspect of his or her nature and a completely different phase with regard to another.  Depending on the individual, phases may progress out of order or repeat as well.

I should also mention that this is far from the only possible model of otherkin development. It’s one that I’ve found works well in my own experience, and its seven stages fit rather conveniently with the use of the alchemical septegram by the otherkin community, but it shouldn’t be taken as gospel.

For easy reference, here are all of the sigils we have created with their purposes and names:

Awakening, “oor”
Remembering, “zakor'”
Discernment, “paw-rad”
Integration, “daw-bak”

Emergence, “ghee’-akh”
Refinement, “zaw-kak”
Transformation, “haw-yaw”

Now, we could of course continue.  There are a near infinity of possible sigils that could be helpful in some way for otherkin.  A sigil for helping with pain from phantom limbs.  A sigil for stopping a phantom shift.  Or initiating one.  A sigil for stopping a mental shift.  Or initiating one.  A sigil for astral travel to one’s remembered homeworld. Etc, etc.

But part of the point of all this has been that you don’t need other people to make a grimoire of sigils for you to use.  You can do it yourself, to fit your own unique needs.  This series, and the articles before it on Thoughtforms, Reiki from a Magical Perspective, and Reiki Sigils have shown how.  Don’t be confined by what’s been “channeled” or what other practitioners have developed for you to work with.  Show us what you can come up with, what is uniquely you.

Get out there.  Transform the world.

Why else are you here?

Otherkin Reiki: Transformation

The last stage of otherkin development can best be described as “transformation”.  This is not a physical change, but a clear manifestation of your refined otherkin nature.  Living as who and what you are, and transforming the world around you in the process.

That’s easy to say.  It’s a lot harder to do.  Because it’s more than just saying “I’m a dragon, so I hoard shiny things” or “I’m a satyr,  so I like sex”.    More than wearing a tail, or donating to a wolf-rescue as a therian, or becoming a member of the Sierra Club as a fae.  It’s about doing the things that only you, as the unique combination of your past nonhuman and present human selves,  are even capable of doing.  Of living up to your full potential.  In the words of Neil Gaiman’s character Delerium: “Our existence deforms the universe.  That’s responsibility.”

In myth, angels and faeries, devas and genii, gods and spirits gave man all of their arts and crafts.  How are you deforming the universe?  How are you changing the world around you?  What fields are you pioneering, or taking in new directions?  What are you creating that did not exist here before?  What gifts will you leave to mankind through your presence here?

Transformation corresponds with the stage of Coagulation in alchemy, and the attainment of the philosopher’s stone. This is again a stage of otherkin development that is not addressed by any symbol in the existing otherkin Reiki tradition of which I am presently aware.  To create one, we’ll begin with the magic square of the sun, pictured below:

As the basis for our sigil we’ll use the hebrew word הָיָה, pronounced “haw-yaw” and meaning “become”, “come to pass” or “be”.  It is composed of the letters He (5), Yod (10), and He (5).  Laid out on our magic square, this produces the following sigil:

Which gives us this as our final sigil:

Once again, a very simple sigil and highly effective once properly charged and released.  To me, this sigil is a reminder that the end of one cycle is the beginning of another.  The stages of development listed in this and the previous articles in this series are not, as it might first seem, a linear progression from beginning to end.  Nor are they a series of video game accomplishments for you to collect and be done with.  They’re steps that you will visit again and again in your journey as otherkin.

There are always new awakenings, new memories to explore and integrate, a new synthesis to be created from those memories and your current experiences, and new ways for that synthesis to transform the world.